FR DE EN

PePA Psy

PePA Psy - Needs, current clinical practices, and support for family caregivers in adult psychiatry in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. Leading House : School of Health Sciences - HESAV.

In adult psychiatric care, informal caregivers have a huge burden to bear. In the last 50 years, people who had previously been regarded as causal agents of mental illness have become the partners of mental health (MH) professionals.

However, the keenness of the MH system to look after patients within the community and to involve family and friends in the care process has exposed these caregivers to increased responsibilities and, as a result, an increased felt workload. This puts informal caregivers at a high risk of developing health problems related to this burden. Given the shortage of skilled health professionals, supporting informal caregivers at a number of critical stages of an illness is a possible solution to treatment needs.

Yet although there are a range of existing solutions in Switzerland, no overview or assessment is currently available. In addition, in French-speaking Switzerland, no study has so far been conducted into the needs of the informal caregivers of patients with mental disorders. As a result, it remains uncertain whether these caregivers’ needs are being met.

In order to evaluate the situation, interviews, focus groups and questionnaires will be carried out with people responsible for the activities offered to caregivers, and with healthcare professionals. The data will be analysed using content analysis, discourse analysis and statistical analysis. This study will aim, ultimately, to cross-check the mutual requirements of professionals and informal caregivers in order to clarify whether these needs are being met and identify any innovative practices.

Applicants

Principal applicant

Co-applicant

Other collaborators


Contact
HES-SO Rectorate
Route de Moutier 14
2800 - Delémont
T +41 58 900 00 00 - F +41 58 900 00 01

FR DE EN

PePA Psy

Besoins, pratiques cliniques courantes et soutien aux proches-aidants en psychiatrie adulte en Suisse romande. Leading House : HESAV - Haute Ecole de Santé Vaud.

Les proches aidants (PA) en psychiatrie adulte sont confrontés à un fardeau important. Au cours des 50 dernières années, ceux qui étaient jusqu’alors considérés comme agent causal de la maladie mentale sont devenus des partenaires des professionnels de la santé mentale (SM).

Cependant, la volonté du système de SM à maintenir les patients au sein de la communauté et à intégrer les proches au processus de soins expose ces derniers à une augmentation de leurs responsabilités et, par conséquent, de la charge ressentie. Les PA présentent dès lors le risque important de développer des problèmes de santé liés à cette charge. Dans un contexte de pénurie de personnel soignant, soutenir les PA à certaines étapes sensibles de la maladie se présente comme solution aux besoins en matière de soin.

Or, bien qu’une diversité d’offres de soutien existe en Suisse, aucune vue d’ensemble ni évaluation ne sont actuellement disponibles. De plus, en Suisse romande, aucune étude concernant les besoins des PA de personnes atteintes de troubles psychiques n’a été faite jusqu’ici. De ce fait, l’adéquation entre offre et besoins des PA reste incertaine.

Afin de mener une évaluation de la situation, des entretiens, focus groups et questionnaires seront menés avec des personnes en charge des activités offertes aux PA, ainsi que des professionnels de la santé. Les données seront analysées par le biais d’une analyse de contenu, d’une analyse de l’énonciation, ainsi que d’une analyse statistique. Cette étude visera, à terme, à croiser les attentes mutuelles de professionnels et des PA afin de mettre en lumière leur adéquation et d’éventuelles pratiques innovantes.

Requérants

Requérant principal

Co-requérant

Autres collaborateurs


Contact
HES-SO Rectorat
Route de Moutier 14
2800 - Delémont
T +41 58 900 00 00 - F +41 58 900 00 01
En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies pour améliorer votre expérience utilisateur et réaliser des statistiques de visites.
ok