FR DE EN

IntEC

Integrating Family Caregivers’ Involvement in Care Measures to Prevent Delirium in Older Persons Hospitalised for Orthopaedic Surgery. Leading House: School of Nursing la Santé La Source.

A significant number of older persons hospitalized in orthopaedic surgery units are at risk of suddenly suffering from a delirium. This syndrome, whose symptoms can vary and are most often temporary, can be caused by a number of varying factors which can have significant consequences on the patient’s cognitive and functional state. The delirium can affect the patient’s life expectancy, plans for discharge, the actual length of their hospital stay, as well as the health of family caregivers.

There are several non-pharmacological interventions which can contribute in the prevention of delirium and can be put in place by nurses in partnership with the family’s caregivers of these hospitalized older persons.

The proposed project’s goal is to understand how family caregivers can be integrated and involved in measures to prevent delirium in older persons hospitalised in the orthopaedic surgery units in two of French-speaking Switzerland’s acute care hospitals. In the context of a shortage of nurses and the ever increasing demand for care, it is essential to explore how the different stakeholders can position themselves to integrate family caregivers into care solutions which prevent delirium in hospitalized older persons.

The results of the study will allow for the design and evaluation of models of care which promote partnership with family caregivers while ensuring and maintaining a high level of quality of care.

Applicants

Principal applicant

Co-applicant

Other collaborators

Contact
HES-SO Rectorate
Route de Moutier 14
2800 - Delémont
T +41 58 900 00 00 - F +41 58 900 00 01

FR DE EN

IntEC

Intégration de Proche-aidants dans les mesures de soins visant à prévenir les états confusionnels chez des personnes âgées hospitalisées en orthopédie. Leading House: Institut et Haute Ecole de la Santé La Source.

De nombreuses personnes âgées hospitalisées sur des unités de chirurgie orthopédique sont à risque de développer soudainement un état confusionnel. Ce syndrome, fluctuant et généralement temporaire, est causé par de multiples facteurs et a des conséquences sur l’état cognitif et fonctionnel des personnes atteintes, le pronostic vital, la planification du retour à domicile et la durée du séjour hospitalier, ainsi que sur la santé des proches aidants.

Plusieurs interventions non pharmacologiques contribuent à le prévenir et peuvent être mises en œuvre par les infirmières, en partenariat avec les proches aidants des personnes âgées hospitalisées.

Le but de notre étude de cas multiples est de comprendre en profondeur comment ces proches aidants sont intégrés dans les soins visant à prévenir l’ÉC. Dans un contexte de pénurie d’infirmières et d’augmentation des besoins en soins, il est primordial d’explorer comment les différents acteurs (personnes âgées, proches aidants, infirmières et infirmière cheffe d’unité) se positionnent sur l’intégration des proches aidants dans les soins visant à prévenir l’ÉC chez les personnes âgées hospitalisées.

Les résultats de l’étude permettront de concevoir et d’évaluer des modèles de soins favorisant le partenariat avec les proches aidants, tout en assurant un haut niveau de qualité des soins.

Requérants

Requérante principale

Co-requérant

Autres collaborateurs

Contact
HES-SO Rectorat
Route de Moutier 14
2800 - Delémont
T +41 58 900 00 00 - F +41 58 900 00 01