FR DE EN

PePA Psy

PePA Psy - Needs, current clinical practices, and support for family caregivers in adult psychiatry in the French-speaking part of Switzerland. Leading House : School of Health Sciences - HESAV.

In adult psychiatric care, informal caregivers have a huge burden to bear. In the last 50 years, people who had previously been regarded as causal agents of mental illness have become the partners of mental health (MH) professionals.

However, the keenness of the MH system to look after patients within the community and to involve family and friends in the care process has exposed these caregivers to increased responsibilities and, as a result, an increased felt workload. This puts informal caregivers at a high risk of developing health problems related to this burden. Given the shortage of skilled health professionals, supporting informal caregivers at a number of critical stages of an illness is a possible solution to treatment needs.

Yet although there are a range of existing solutions in Switzerland, no overview or assessment is currently available. In addition, in French-speaking Switzerland, no study has so far been conducted into the needs of the informal caregivers of patients with mental disorders. As a result, it remains uncertain whether these caregivers’ needs are being met.

In order to evaluate the situation, interviews, focus groups and questionnaires will be carried out with people responsible for the activities offered to caregivers, and with healthcare professionals. The data will be analysed using content analysis, discourse analysis and statistical analysis. This study will aim, ultimately, to cross-check the mutual requirements of professionals and informal caregivers in order to clarify whether these needs are being met and identify any innovative practices.

Applicants

Principal applicant

Co-applicant

Other collaborators


Contact
HES-SO Rectorate
Route de Moutier 14
2800 - Delémont
T +41 58 900 00 00 - F +41 58 900 00 01

FR DE EN

PePA Psy

PePA Psy - Unterstützungsprogramm für Pflegende Angehörige (PA) in der Erwachsenenpsychiatrie in der Westschweiz. Leading House : HESAV - Haute Ecole de Santé Vaud.

Pflegende Angehörige (PA) in der Erwachsenenpsychiatrie haben eine schwere Bürde zu tragen. In den letzten 50 Jahren sind sie von denjenigen, die als ursächliche Faktoren der psychischen Erkrankung ihrer Angehörigen angesehen wurden, nun zu Partnern der Fachpersonen für psychische Gesundheit geworden.

Allerdings führt das Bestreben im psychosozialen Gesundheitssystem, die Eingliederung der Patienten in die Gesellschaft soweit wie möglich zu erhalten und die Angehörigen in den Pflegeprozess miteinzubeziehen, dazu, dass sich deren Verantwortung und damit gleichzeitig die erlebte Belastung wesentlich vergrössern. Das Risiko, dass pflegende Angehörige (PA) aufgrund dieser Belastung gesundheitliche Probleme entwickeln, ist somit hoch.

Angesichts des Fachkräftemangels im Gesundheitsbereich scheint eine wichtige Lösung für die Bedürfnisse in der Pflege, die PA in bestimmten sensiblen Phasen der Krankheit zu unterstützen. Obwohl eine Vielfalt an Unterstützungsangeboten in der Schweiz existiert, sind weder eine Gesamtübersicht noch eine Auswertung darüber verfügbar. Ausserdem wurde in der Westschweiz bisher noch keine Studie betreffend die Bedürfnisse der PA von Personen mit psychischen Krankheiten erstellt. Deshalb bleibt fraglich, ob das Angebot den Bedürfnissen der PA entspricht.

Zur Evaluierung der Situation sind Interviews, Fokusgruppen und Fragebögen mit den zuständigen Personen für die an PA gerichteten Aktivitäten sowie den Gesundheitsfachpersonen vorgesehen. Die erhobenen Daten werden mittels Inhaltsanalyse, Ausdrucksanalyse sowie einer statistischen Analyse untersucht. Die Studie zielt darauf ab, mittelfristig die wechselseitigen Erwartungen der Fachpersonen und der PA gegenüberzustellen und somit deren Angemessenheit zu beleuchten sowie allfällige innovative Ansätze zu klären.

antragsteller

Hauptantragsteller

Nebenantragsteller

Andere Mitarbeitende


Kontakt
HES-SO Rektorat
Route de Moutier 14
2800 - Delémont
T +41 58 900 00 00 - F +41 58 900 00 01